Browse Entries

Trade Union entry Queensland Labourers Union (1889 - 1892)

Trade Union (State or Territory only)


The Queensland Labourers' Union [QLU] was established at Saltern Creek in 1888 as the Central Queensland Labourers' Union. In 1892 the Queensland Labourers' Union, as it was then known, amalgamated with the Queensland Shearers' Union to form the Amalgamated Workers' Union of Queensland. Operating for twelve years the three branches of the Amalgamated Workers' Union of Queensland (Longreach, Hughenden and Charleville) amalgamated with the Australian Workers' Union in 1904 and, as a consequence, became the Queensland branches of that union.


 1888 - 1889 Central Queensland Labourers Union
       1889 - 1892 Queensland Labourers Union
             1892 - 1904 Amalgamated Workers Union of Queensland
                   1905 - 1976 Australian Workers Union (i)
                         1976 - 1988 Australian Workers Union (ii)
                               1988 - 1993 Australian Workers Union (iii)
                                     1993 - AWU-FIME Amalgamated Union

Archival resources

The Noel Butlin Archives Centre, ANU Archives Program

Published resources


  • Svenson, S., Industrial War: The Great Strikes 1890-94, Ram Press, Wollongong, 1995, 107 pp. Details

Edited Books

  • Murphy, D.J. (ed.), The Big Strikes, Queensland 1889-1965, University of Queensland Press, Brisbane, Queensland, 1983, 303 pp. Details

See also

  • Merritt, John, The Making of the AWU, Oxford University Press, Melbourne, 1986, 432 pp. Details

Ross G. Elford